Coedffranc Town Council

Welcome to the Coedffranc Town Council site

The Coedffranc Community is within the County of Neath Port Talbot. It is situated on the West side of the River Neath and covers 4 wards – Coedffranc Central ward, West Central Ward, North ward and the West Ward Clicking on the map shows the area in Wales that the Council covers.

Coronavirus Notice

Press Release

Skewen Park to re-open with safety measures in place

Skewen Park is to re-open to the public on Thursday, June 4th 2020 with safety measures in place.
Skewen Park was closed on March 22nd, 2020, following Welsh Government advice to prevent the spread of Covid-19.
The Town Council is responding to the wishes of residents in re-opening Skewen Park, and to a change in the Welsh Government’s lockdown rules. However, it will not be “business as usual” as a series of measures will be in place to help maintain the safety and welfare of both staff and park visitors.

Based on current Welsh Government guidance, the children’s playground areas, paddling pool, skate park, tennis courts, crazy golf, footgolf, multi-use games area and artificial turf pitch in Skewen Park will have to remain closed.

Also, any facilities such as toilets within the park will not be re-opened.

Visitors to the re-opened park will be requested to stick closely to social distancing measures. Signs reminding park users of safety precautions will be placed on all access gates and visitors will be reminded of the need for hand washing/sanitising before and after visiting and to refrain from touching surfaces likely to have been touched by others.

Current guidance for parks is that benches should be removed but this would be impractical as benches are bedded in concrete so our park users are being asked not to use benches.

Due to staff shortages because of staff isolating due to Covid 19, Skewen Park will open at 8am and the park gates will be closed at 7pm daily. It is important that you co-operate with the Park Attendant if you are asked to leave. Please ensure you allow yourself enough time to leave during your chosen gate. This time will be periodically reviewed and extended if possible.

Additionally, the Council is requesting that all dogs remain on leads throughout Skewen Park to prevent the inadvertent breaking of social distancing by owners.

Residents are asked to follow Welsh Government guidance which emphasises the importance of exercising locally to where people live, generally within a five-mile radius and not to travel to parks outside of the five-mile guidance at this time.

The Town Council is pleased to be able to re-open Skewen Park but would ask that everyone continues to play their part and abide by all of the rules so that we can keep the park open for the public and prevent the spread the Covid 19. With this in mind, it is also important that we continue in the national fight against coronavirus by continuing to observe social distancing when exercising in Skewen Park so that visiting it is a good experience for everyone.”